Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Getting back into IT after a year of being out of it 2

Status
Not open for further replies.
Apr 29, 2003
US
I have about 8 years of experience in the IT field (mainly WAN experience). I had a baby last year and due to scheduling conflicts, I had to leave my job after my daughter was born and was able to collect unemployment until late last year.

Since Decemeber, I have been trying to get back into the IT world and I've had interviews but I haven't had enough experince in switches to get the job itself.

Short of getting my CCNA (which I am working on getting at the moment), what other helpful hints can anyone give me in getting that "1st job" after a year of being out of work? I was hoping a 3-4 month temp job was going to get my foot in the door but it didn't pan out. Will my CCNA open a door or 2 or will people still look at the fact that I haven't worked in a year and that will still hurt me??

Caryn

CarsonsGirl,

Since you said you are working on your CCNA - get yourself 3 routers and 2 switches on Ebay and then get the experience that they say you lack.

Not only will it help you on the CCNA but it will help get real world hands-on practice. You can also get specific books on switching as well as many different CBTs on the subject.

Being off for a year for a birth should not be a big deal - especially if you quickly fill that void with your CCNA and some hands on practice. That will show them that you enhanced your skill set while being off with your child.