Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

getting age from Birthdate 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

craigey

Technical User
Apr 18, 2002
GB
Hi

If i have a field for someone's birthday, How can I get a field to automatically fill in the persons age into a field called Age??? I'm fairly new to access so please be thorough and patient with me.

By the way does anyone know of any good guides or things to practice so that I can learn how to use Access.

Many thanks

Code:
Public Function basDOB2Age(DOB As Date, Optional AsOf As Date = -1) As Integer

'Dob is just the date of Birth
    'AsOf is an optional date to check - as in examples 1 & 2
    'Otherwise, the DOB is checked against the Current Date

'Michael Red 12/15/2001
    'To Calculate Age from Date of Birth

'Sample Useage:
    '? basDOB2Age(#8/21/1942#, #8/21/2022#)
    '80

'? basDOB2Age(#8/21/1942#, #8/20/2022#)
    '79

'? basDOB2Age(#8/21/1942#)
    '59

Dim tmpAge As Integer       'Simple DateDiff w/o Birthday correction
    Dim BrthDayCorr As Boolean  'BirthDay Before or After date in question

If (AsOf = -1) Then         'Check for (Optional Date to Check against)
        AsOf = Date             'If Not Supplied, Assume Today
    End If

tmpAge = DateDiff("YYYY", DOB, AsOf)        'Just the Years considering Jan 1, Mam
    BrthDayCorr = DateSerial(Year(AsOf), Month(DOB), Day(DOB)) > AsOf   'Check This Year

basDOB2Age = tmpAge + BrthDayCorr           'Just Years and Correction

End Function

MichaelRed
m.red@att.net

There is never time to do it right but there is always time to do it over

thankyou both for your advice, but i've tried implemeting the code, but am obviously doing something wrong.