Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

get webpage url and insert into webpage <base> statement

Status
Not open for further replies.

cmgrn

Programmer
Nov 28, 2001
US
I am new to HTML and am writing my webpages on my pc at work then copying them into our company intranet folder for viewing.
Is there a way to specify a "keyword" that would retrieve a webpage's current location to place in the <base> statement so when I move a webpage it will automatically pick up its new location as the default?
Currently my webpages have 2 <base> statements. One for my pc and one for our intranet. I comment out the one in each webpage that is not appropriate for where the webpage is stored.

Example:

My pc:
<base href="C:\documents\forms\" />
<!--<base href=" />-->

Our intranet:
<!--<base href="C:\documents\forms\" />-->
<base href=" />

Hopefully:
<base href=[getcurrentwebpagelocation] />

Thanks.

That can't be done in HTML. It can be done through a server side language: ASP, PHP, ASP.NET(I think).

[monkey][snake] <.

Why not just use relative URLs - then it would not matter where your pages were placed, assuming you use the same structure on your dev box as on your live environment (which is normally a good thing).

E.g. instead of:

Code:
<script src="/someFolder/someAppName/js/wibble.js">

or

Code:
<a href="/someFolder/someAppName/folder2/reports/managersDelight.html">

you might use:

Code:
<script src="../someFolder/someAppName/js/wibble.js">

or

Code:
<a href="folder2/reports/managersDelight.html">

(depending on the page in question, and the size of the site, etc).

Hope this helps,
Dan

Coedit Limited - Delivering standards compliant, accessible web solutions