Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Get error: The database is not accessible. (ObjectExplorer)

Status
Not open for further replies.

smsmail

Programmer
Aug 11, 2010
US
Hello

Thanks in advance for your help.

When trying to access the sql server database thru SSMS, I am getting the following message "The database SMSProductionSQL is not accessible. (ObjectExplorer)". Yet, I am able to INSERT/UPDATE/DELETE the database using an ACCESS frontend application.

I am new to SQL Administration, and am at a lost. What could possibly cause this problem? Where should I look first? I am using SQL Server 2008 Express.

Again, thanks for your help.

Access is probably using an application login (you log into Access, execute the command, and Access passes the information to the database using a different login/password).

When you try to access the database, you are using your own login/password. You might not have permission to access the database directly.

Are you the Database Administrator? If not, request the DBA check your permissions on the database.

If you are, can you see the SQL Server error logs? If so, check for login errors.

-SQLBill

The following is part of my signature block and is only intended to be informational.
Posting advice: FAQ481-4875

SQLBill, thanks so much for your help.

I have looked at the error log and it appears that I do not have any login errors. The log message when accessing the SMSProductionSQL database using SSMS is: 2011-06-16 16:12:55.70 spid55 Starting up database 'SMSProductionSQL'.

Any thoughts?

Is the database a large database? If so, when you initially try to connect to it, you may not be giving it enough time to start up.