Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Generic Questions that maybe someone can answer 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

DrB0b

IS-IT--Management
May 19, 2011
US
Hello all fellow Tek-Tippers,
I have a couple of questions since I am relatively new to the VoIP world and maybe someone will have a few seconds to answer them.

1) I know it is not best practice but can you run the VoIP traffic and normal LAN traffic on the same VLAN/subnet?
2) Assuming the answer is yes...... but you really shouldnt, what do people with soft phones do in their setups? We have almost 50 soft phones in our building and the software doesnt allow it to have its own IP and must use the IP of the host PC.
3) Does anyone have experience with 8x8 Cloud VoIP services? Good, bad, other?

Learning - A never ending quest for knowledge usually attained by being thrown in a situation and told to fix it NOW.

Not a good idea to run voice and data on the same vlan. At least make sure the QOS is set to allow voice a higher priority.
By cloud 8x8 VoIP services I assume you mean a hosted system. There are good and bad points about it. We sell both. It relly depends on the size of the system and the desire to have someone else host the hardware (other then the poe switch /router and phones). Usually by the end of 6-12 months you could have paid off an on site system (again depending on size) and owned it as opposed to monthly hosted reoccurring bills.