Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

generating unique ID for use in a call logging system

Status
Not open for further replies.

kiwieur

Technical User
Apr 25, 2006
GB
Hi Guys,

I am pretty new to ASP so please forgive me if my question sounds a bit "dumb". We have a basic intranet at work which I adminster, at the moment it is pretty much all HTML with pages that just show information etc plus links to some documents.

I have been asked to see if i can come up with a call logging system for internal use, the data will be stored in an Access database and I am trying to find a way that when the user wants to add a new record the call number ID will be
a)Unique
b)Sequential

My problem is that I know that it may be possible for 2 users to do this at the same time and therefore generate duplicate ID's. I was thinking along the lines of this scenario

1) User opens web page which generates the Call ID, they then submit this to the DB and are then returned to another page with the ID already filled in where they can then enter the rest of the data before updating the record.

Does this sound plausible ?, if so is there anyone that would be kind enough to help me achieve this please

Regards

Paul

It is important to assign/reserve the ID immediately? Is the ID important in some other way than as a primary key for calls (does the ID number have meaning-date or something)?

Couldn't User 1 open the data collection page, enter information, and hit submit, while User 2 is doing the same thing on a different call? Then they just get an Access autonumber in the order they hit the database (INSERT). No duplicates.