Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

General Reporting Application

Status
Not open for further replies.

dBjason

Programmer
Mar 25, 2005
US
Hi All,

I'm still relatively new with the .NET framework, and am hoping I can get a little direction from you guys.

I've inherited an old VB6 reporting application which I must maintain until a (new) version is ready to roll out.

As part of my 'project', I am also supposed to be thinking of ways to convert the app to the .NET framework. Right now we have Visual Studio 2008 to develop with. As the program was originally written in VB6, I plan to create the front-end as a Windows Forms Application to keep the 'look and feel' the same for our users.

My hitch is, of course, the reporting end of it. The current app is really nothing more than a spaghettified report engine. We've been using ActiveReports to generate documentation which gets mailed to our clients. Our business rules are numerous (to say the least) and each report has a large number of variables (most reports are letters of some sort to our clients - each one is customized with acct numbers, names, even footers must be customized for each child company we have).

Many of these letters/reports have variable information which must be placed in the middle of paragraphs. The existing app is a dandy; and we're looking to upgrade soon.

So my question is: What would be my best reporting option, given the information above? VS ships both its own reporting tool as well as Crystal. Beings I have such a high level of report customization, should I run with Crystal or give the MS reporting tool a shot? Or should I look into 3rd party software more suited for our needs?