Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

General purpose CustomValidator

Status
Not open for further replies.

Glasgow

IS-IT--Management
Jul 30, 2001
GB
I'm pretty new to ASP.NET and so finding my way but I was wondering whether it's possible to set up a single general purpose OnServerValidate routine that triggers different logic and error messages. Something along these lines..
Code:
Select Case Control.Name
  Case "TxtBox1"
    if ucase(TxtBox1.Text)<>TxtBox1.Value) then args.isvalid = False
  Case "TxtBox2"
    if Instr("a,c,d,e",TxtBox2.Text)<1 then args.isvalid = False
End Select
Excuse any typos - I'm just trying to illustrate the approach. I'd still like to be able to trigger the error message associated with the individual CustomValidator controls assuming I can't assign these in the same general purpose routine.

I accept that I may have missed the point completely!

you can, but i would advise against it. A CustomValidator is general by it's nature. OOP is about encapsulating change. in this case you have 4 things that could change, a single event handler
1. name of control
2. type of control
3. new validation
4. different (but existing) validation
by using either a subclassing or unique specification approach you can isolate change.

subclassing the CustomerValidaor would look like this.
Code:
public class MyValidator : CustomValidator
{
   //override members as necessary
}
here is an example of moving the actual logic out of the code behind and into a specification.
Code:
interface ISpecification<T>
{
   bool IsSpecifiedBy(T item);
}

class EqualsSpecification<T> : ISpecification<T>
{
   private T other;

public EqualsSpecification(T other)
   {
      this.other = other;