Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

General Network Error: SQL Connection

Status
Not open for further replies.

bobbarker

Programmer
Dec 20, 2001
GB
Question from a Newby...
Have installed on a customer's server MSDE. They connect to the server using terminal servers (which I have no experience off).
I have a bit of code that I use to text the connection from the terminal to the SQL server:
Code:
    Dim cnnConn As ADODB.Connection
    Dim strConn As String

On Error GoTo ConnectSQL_Err
    'Create Connection

strConn = "User ID=sa;Password=password;data source=servername;Initial Catalog=databasename"
    Set cnnConn = New ADODB.Connection

With cnnConn
        .Provider = "SQLOLEDB.1"
        .ConnectionString = strConn
        .ConnectionTimeout = 20
        .CommandTimeout = 240
        .Open
        If .State <> 1 Then
            MsgBox "Not Connected. State " & Str(.State)
        Else
            MsgBox "Connected OK"
        End If

End With 'cnnconn

When running this directly on the SQL server it connects OK.

When running on the terminal server I first got "Specified SQL Server Not Found" error.

I have got past this bychanging the default network library from named pipes to TCP/IP.

When running from the terminal server I now get "-2147467259 [DBMSSOCN] General Network Error. Check Your network documentation"

Any suggestions on how to progress past this error?

I am able to ping the SQL server from the terminal servre, and the SQL server is running.

It's my birthday today and this is kind of spoiling it. Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

First, security issue...it's VERY bad practice to use the SA login. That gives the user access to EVERYTHING.