Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Gearing up for the CCNA 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Acer1608

Technical User
Mar 24, 2011
US
Hey everyone,
I have a question regarding preparing for the CCNA exam.
This is my background in a nutshell. I'm a tech thats been working at a company for 5 years on the Helpdesk. I've got my A+ and my network + cert. I want start preparing for the CCNA exam and want to set up a small lab at home. We have some spare equipment in our server room that I will have access to i'm sure.

We have: Cisco 515E Firewall
Cisco 2600 x 2 Routers
Cisco 2500 Router
Cisco 2801 Router

What do ya'll think I can use as a set up that will be optimal and how many systems will I need?

Acer1608,

As for the equipment you have - forget the PIX 515, CCNA does not cover the PIX in any way so it will only confuse you, Use the 2500 as a Frame Relay switch and connect (if it only has 2 serial) the 2801 and 2600 through the 2500 FR Switch, you will need WIC 1Ts for the 2801 and 2600 as well as DCE/DTE cables. The DCE end goes to the FR Switch.

If you are lucky enough to have a 2500 that is a 2520/21 or 2522/23 you will have plenty of serial ports to attach the 3 routers, if not just get another 2 WIC 1Ts and connect the 2801 to the 2nd 2600, that way you can route to a 3rd router accross the Frame Relay switch.

You will also need at least 2 2950 switches, you can get them on eBay, don't expect work to supply EVERYTHING !!!

Read the info at Networkworld on setting up a home CCNA lab - the link is below.

As for study, I would get 2 books, Sybex CCNA Study Guide by Todd Lammel and one of the Cisco Press CCNA books, Wendell Odom is one of the better.