Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

FTP very slow download rate

Status
Not open for further replies.

NIEDAX

Programmer
Mar 24, 2005
DE
Hi,
When I download a file with Win98 from my Server (SCO UNIX Release 5 FTp-Server:ftpd), then I have a good download rate between 1000 and 2000 KByes/s. When I download a file with WinXP or Ubuntu Linux from the Server, I have a very slow download rate between 50 and 200 KBytes/s!!! I have no idea to solve this problem!

I have a second SCO Unix mashine without this Problems. I'm new in SCO UNIX so please describe your answer a little bit detailed.

Server:
SCO UNIX Release 5

FTP-Server:
ftpd

FTP-Clients:
gFTP
TotalCommander
SmartFTP

Thx Olli

Are all the machines (SCOs,Win98,WinXP and Linux) on the same subnet ?
What is the ouptput of the uname -a command on both SCO ?

Hope This Helps, PH.
FAQ219-2884
FAQ181-2886

I ran into that same symptom just yesterday on a Client's system.
Run "netstat -m". If you see errors listed, it's time to reboot the box. That doesn't really address the cause, but it might remove the symptoms for awhile.

"Proof that there is intelligent life in Oregon. Well, Life anyway.

We had to select FTP's PASV mode with some combinations of XP and installed patches.

Hi

PHV (MIS):
All mashines are on the same subnet.
uname -a :
First SCO mashine: SCO_SV cook 3.2 5.0.5 i386
Second SCO mashine: SCO_SV sni 3.2 5.0.6 i386

motoslide (MIS):
netstat -m have no errors listed.

M577A2 (TechnicalUser):
I have tested PASV mode but it isn't faster :-(

Thanks at all.

Any other idea?

Greats Olli

are the xp and linux systems "resolvable" from the sco system.