Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Frequent Data Loss

Status
Not open for further replies.

SeisaT

Technical User
Nov 30, 2005
LS
Hello,

I am a consultant whose primary role is to implement and support Business Solutions. Although I can relate to some technical aspects of networking, I am not really an expect in the field.

One of my clients' is experiencing frequent data loss through what I suspect to be "a lost connection" with the Server. This application is using MS Access as a database. Talking to a resident "IT Personnel" doesn't help much because of her obvious lack of knowledge in the field (She is still wet behind the ears).

This site which is running ACCPAC on a Windows 2K Advanced Server and workstations are predominantly running on Windows XP PRO. This is a Server/Client installation whereby both applications and data are residing on the Server. Although the ACCPAC system is a 5-user, the overall number of users is more than 15 sharing the Server.

I would also like to understand the PROS and CONS of running a "Workgroup" instead of a "DOMAIN" on a proper Server Operating System.

As I indicated earlier that the suspect is communication breakdown with the Server, the users often report what is known as "Error 49153" (Unable to Connect to Database) in ACCPAC and it often resolves itself.

I need pointers as to what could be causing this communication breakdown and some arguments I could use proof that the problem is not the application but is network related (If I'm right in my assumption).

Regards,
SeisaT