Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

FreeBSD vs Linux

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sina

Technical User
Jan 2, 2001
CA
Hello everyone,

I've been using Linux for the past 6-8 years.
recently I downloaded the Freebsd 4.4 and installed it. I was actually very impressed with the speed and performance. My question is that why I don't see a lot of people using Freebsd?
What are the drawbacks?

Thank you all.

Sina

hi,
actually freebsd is the origin of linux.linux include everything,but freebsd just a standard package,u need to intstall whatever package u want to install.it is really impressive to me.I'm also a beginner to unix os.

I am another developer who went from using Linux to using FreeBSD. I was also very impressed at the lean installation procedure, which doesn't put in anything more than you need.

The main thing I like about FreeBSD is that it has this...authenticity. It is the real deal, a true Unix. It is a very mature codebase, derived straight from the original Berkely Unix. This code has been the subject of over 30 years of refinement and troubleshooting, and it shows. I don't know about whether FreeBSD is that much faster than Linux, but I really think there is NO operating system out there that is more stable, perhaps even among the big-time commercial Unix systems. I have done all kinds of crazy stuff on my test FreeBSD servers, and have never yet had a system crash, resulting in a loss of data, except when caused by hardware failure.