Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

FREEBSD INSTALL

Status
Not open for further replies.

jvmess

Technical User
Feb 25, 2001
US
I AM NEW TO UNIX-BEEN ADMIN FOR NT FOR AWHILE= TRYING TO INSTALL FREE BSD AND I AM NOT HAVING ALOT OF SUCCESS=I READ ENTIRE BOOK FROM WALNUT CREEK AND FOLLOWED INSTALL PROCEDURES WORD FOR WORD- I STILL KEEP GETTING SAME MESSAGE " No Boot loader >>freebsd/i386 BOOT DEFAULT:0:AD(0,A)/KERNEL BOOT: NO KERNEL " I DONT THINK INSTALL IS RUNNING FROM CD- WHEN I INITIALIZE INSTALL IT TAKES LIKE 2 SEC AND SAYS "INSTALL COMPLTETED WITH SOME ERRORS- ANY HELP WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED--PLEASE ALLOW ME TO DISCOVER UNIX :)

Have you tried a different CD or a different computer.
I was just having the same problems with one PC earlier this month and as soon as I tried a different PC witht the same CD the install went flawlessly ... I have also had a bum CD about a year ago. To fix the bum CD problem I downloaded the ISO from FreeBSD's ftp site and burnt a fresh copy ....

Other than those two reason's I havent seen an install fail.

I just installed freebsd the otherday on a machine. I recived the sames error two or three times.

I was not able to pin point he problem, however I did get it installed. I think it had something to do with setting up the partitions and filesystems. I would pay close attention to this part of the install.

-Danny

just a thought :
I had the same problems.The thing i wasnt doing right was not taking care of the IRQ conflicts during install time.after five-six unsuccessful installs , i did that and and it installed without any other problems.

Hi there,