Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

FPW hangs with REPORT FORM

Status
Not open for further replies.

Zog1

Programmer
Feb 3, 2001
US
First, my apologies if this post turns up in another thread. I'm new to the fourm, and tried to post the problem as a guest a couple of days ago, but haven't seen a trace of it since. Now the problem...

In a given release of our application, When the user tries to print or view a particular report, their system hangs, and they must shut FoxPro down. To clarify, on another release, another report will cause the hang.

We have an app in which the report forms are a mix of DOS only, DOS and Win and Win only. This problem only arises with .frx files that have Windows records.

We are not using the project manager for our application; we distribute .fxp files.

The problem only occurs in FoxPro runtime. It does not reproduce in interactive mode.

Through pure luck, I found a way to 'fix' the problem, but it is not a fix in the sense that I changed any code or system settings.

For this discussion, assume that Master.prg is the master program file. The first time the problem occurred, by chance I recompiled Master.prg on my computer and the problem was gone. We assumed it was a problem with the devel manager's machine and worked from that premise, avoiding compiles on that box.

Then, a couple of releases later, the problem reappeared with another report. This time, recompiling on my computer created the problem, while another programmer's machine gave us the 'fix'. Hummmm...the third time we caught in pre-release and were able to 'fix' it again the same way.