Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

FOWPROW error message - An erroe has occurred 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mark0209

Technical User
Aug 4, 2001
US
Please note that I am a technical user and not necessarily a programmer.

I have several FowPro for Windows version 2.6 written applications that I have been running under Windows 98 for several years without any problems. I recently purchased a new PC running Windows 98 and tranferred the applications to this PC. Now when I run the progams (EXE files) I receive the following error message:

FowProw

An error has occurred in your program. To keep working anyway, click Ignore and save your work in a anew file. To quit this program, click Close. You will lose information entered since your last Save.

Close Ignore

If I hit Close it sure enough closes the program. If I hit Ignore the program starts and appears to run error free. This is happening in all the transferred programs.

My 'gut' tell me that something must be missing in a startup or ini file.

Any ideas? Any and all help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Mark

Hi,
Look into the FoxUser.* files which are in your default working directory. You may be having a right protected ones. To change the attribute, in the directory DOS prompt... type the command...
ATTRIB -R FOXUSER.*

Another way is to delete these FoxUser.* files from the directory and let the application create it automatically when it starts next time. SO you will know if this is the problem. If you had used a CD recording and then transferred, the files could get transferred with attributes +R set. Hope this solves your problem.

Best of luck ramani :-9
(Subramanian.G)
FoxAcc
ramani_g@yahoo.com