Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Formula to Return Future Date 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

jpstrzoch

Technical User
Mar 24, 2004
US
Greetings,

I am an amateur Crystal Reports user. I manage a box printing operation in Chicago, IL. The Chicago, IL location is known systemically as WHSE-101. Box orders are placed that are relational to geographical locations where we have additional warehouse locations. Example, Iowa, WHSE-301, Indianapolis, WHSE-201, Cincinnati, WHSE 701, etc. There are weekly wareshouse transfers from Chicago to Iowa on Monday's, from Chicago to Indianapolis on Wednesday's, and from Chicago to Cincinnati on Thursday's.

My report has a formula which returns a date value called {@Target Date}. This is the date that the order must be printed by.
My report has a DateVar Array that lists the holidays called {@Enter Holidays}. This is simply a list of our company recognized holidays thus we are closed.
My report has a Number field that lists the warehouse number relational to the order called {BOXPRNT_.WHSE}. This is where the finished boxes will ultimately be transfered to.

I need to create a formula that returns a date value, {@Transfer Date}, which would be the next viable warehouse transfer date relational to 301, 201, and 701, ultimately the very next Monday, Wednesday, or Thursday respectively. I need it to start from the {@Target Date} first, and identify the next relational date, and if the date returned just happens to fall on a company holiday, {@Enter Holidays}, then it should bounce forward to the following week's Monday, Wednesday, or Thursday.

Can you help me please? I have no idea where to start.