Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Forms: Entering date using drop down menu? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

scomfort

Programmer
Dec 3, 2003
GB
Hey there,

I was wondering what is the best way to enable someone to select a date in forms like they do on most websites (i.e. by use of drop-down menus for day, month and year). In my database I have a date field which of course I would like updating from whatever the user puts in.
I'm pretty new to Forms so sorry if its simple stuff!
Cheers.

You could build a list of dates using ALL_OBJECTS system view.

[tt]SELECT SYSDATE + (ROWNUM - 1)
FROM all_objects
WHERE ROWNUM <= 28;[/tt]

This query returns dates for the next 4 weeks.

Thanks for the reply.
However the actual date field is going to represent date of birth so will have to show a fair few dates. I thought that there might be a way to represent this by simply using drop-down menus (as I said before when you sign up on web-sites you usually select day/month/year from separate menus). Is this possible considering the DOB is itself modelled as a date type?

Then all you need are three drop down lists. One has the days 1-31, then next all the months and the third a range of years of your choice.

All you then need to to is concatenate the results and use TO_DATE to convert them into an actual date.

I've tried to do as suggested but am lost as to how to go about it.
At the moment I can create the three lists and populate them with relevant data. However the next part Im not sure on.