Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Formatting Full Hard Drive 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

grnzbra

Programmer
Mar 12, 2002
US
I am a photographer and keep my photos and associated post-processing info on an external hard drive. I also have a second hard drive to act as a backup of the first hard drive. What I didn't realize was that each time there was a backup, it was added to the second hard drive. I now find that the second hard drive seems to be full. Any attempt to access it in File Explorer just freeze up the computer for File Explorer. (Other apps such as the photo editing programs work fine). Since the second drive is just backups for the first drive, which is currently working correctly, I would just like to start over and format the second drive (rather than throwing it away and buying a new drive). Is there any way to format this full drive?

Use a free GParted live USB to remove the second HDD's main/full partition then use Windows to reformat it.

Hope this helps...

Did you try to access this drive not with Explorer but with old fashion DOS prompt?

---- Andy

"Hmm...they have the internet on computers now"--Homer Simpson

I tried with Explorer. Ah. I thought about a DOS prompt but it's been so many years since I used it that I don't remember how to do it.

Rick998 said:
Use a free GParted live USB to remove the second HDD's main/full partition then use Windows to reformat it.

There is the additional benefit of accessing this second drive on a system that isn't actively trying to back up more data to it. Running an alternative OS (through this live USB) or taking the second hard drive to another computer offers many opportunities.