Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Formating RSS feeds

Status
Not open for further replies.
When you bring the feed in, just put the info into HTML elements and simply reference those elements in the CSS to give you what font you want.

I would assume you are pulling the feed in then using the DOM putting it into your page. So just apply styles to the elements you are putting your feed into.

[monkey][snake] <.

Actually, I'm not putting it into anything. I just have the about script pasted into my page.

Can you give me an example of what you mean? I'm kinda new to this.

Thanks for the help.

Ok here is an example, (this was a throw-together test for RSS, so it may not look nice, but it does the job)

Assuming you pull in the RSS feed, you'd do something like this:

Code:
var itemList = objXML.getElementsByTagName("item");
var itemListLength = itemList.length;
var bodyHTML = "";

for (a = 0; a < itemListLength; a++) {
   var storyNodes = itemList[a].childNodes;
   bodyHTML += "<div><div style='text-align:center'><h3><a href=" + storyNodes[1].text + ">" + storyNodes[0].text + "</a></h3></div>";
   bodyHTML += storyNodes[3].text + "<br />";
   bodyHTML += storyNodes[4].text + "<br /></div>";
}

where objXML is the actual feed. You see, I pull in the childNodes of all the <items> and wrap them in whatever HTML tags I want. I have an inline style above (<div style='text-align:center'>), the only thing you would need to do is style your own CSS in the HTML you wrap the RSS feed text through.

In my example, I just created an innerHTML text to get pasted into the body, there are other ways to do this, but innerHTML is plenty fast and simple to use.