Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Form and JavaScript

Status
Not open for further replies.

samesale

Programmer
Sep 15, 2003
US
I found this code on the Internet. I modified it by adding a new line to the form. However, it does not perform check on the birth date. I know that the W variable is undefined but it must be picking a value for W somewhere in the program. Since, I am new to JavaScript, I need help as how to make the last field check itself.

<HEAD>

<SCRIPT LANGUAGE="JavaScript">

<!-- Begin
FormName = "form" //Name of the form
CheckName = "check" //Name of the checkboxes (without 1,2,3,...10,11,12...)
TextName = "text" //Name of the textfields (without 1,2,3,...10,11,12...)

var Condition=new Array(
'a!=""', //Must be filled
'a!=""&&a.length>5&&a.indexOf("@")!=-1&&a.indexOf(".")!=-1', //Must be longer than 5 characters, have @, and atleast one '.'
'a.length>7&&!(a.split("/")[0]*1>12)&&!(a.split("/")[1]*1>31)&&!(a.split("/")[2]*1<1900)' //Must be longer than 7 characters, first (two) digit(s) NOT greater than 12, second (two) digit(s) NOT greater than 31 and last 4 greater than 1900
);
function docheck(w) {
eval("a=document." + FormName + "." + TextName + w + ".value");
if (eval(Condition[w])) eval("document." + FormName + "." + CheckName + w + ".checked=true");
else eval("document." + FormName + "." + CheckName + w + ".checked=false");
}
// End -->
</script>

</HEAD>

<!-- STEP TWO: Copy this code into the BODY of your HTML document -->

<BODY>

<form name=form>
<input type=checkbox name=check0 onClick="return false"> First: <input type=text name=text0 onBlur='docheck("0")'><BR>