Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Finding applilcation integrator and map question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Fig000

Programmer
Jun 13, 2001
US
Hi Everyone,

I'm new to EDI and gentran. Our company had some work done by an outside firm. The set up gentran for us and we're trying to get control of the entire process. I looked for the map files but could only find the tpl files, leading me to beleive that we might not have the map files to change the mappings.

I was hoping we could create new map files to incorporate some changes in our outbound mappings we'd like to make. I've looked on the internet but could not find the way to bring up the application integration subsystem from gentran director. After looking at the documentation it seems that the subsystem is the way to modify or create maps.

So my questions:
1. How do I get into the application integration subsystem from gentran director (we're using version 5.4)?
2. I'm sure that the answer to this question is no but I'm grasping at straws: Is it possible to reverse engineer tpl files back to map files? I assume I'll either have to create new map files or possibly wrangle with the firm that set this up to get the one's we're using.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Fig000

Hello Fig000,
I work with Gentran Server for Windows so I guess it's not identical. Here's a page from the manual on the Sterling Commerce Customer Centre.

You can access the Gentran:Director Application Integration Window in one
of four different ways:
? Click the menu option from the Main Menu Bar.
? Click the appropriate button on the Main Toolbar.
? Click the appropriate part of the map.