Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Finding ActionScript Code in Flash MX 2004 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

MsPepperMintUSA

Programmer
Mar 15, 2001
US
Background Info:
I'm trying to modify a Flash movie that was created by another developer. I'm new to the Flash MX 2004 environment.
I am not new to web developing with Macromedia Products. I have coded using HomeSite, Dreamweaver, and create web apps using ColdFusion.

What I Need To Accomplish:
I need to locate the ActionScript code that generates a search functionality within the Flash Movie.

What I Have Attempted So Far:
I figured out how to use the Movie Explorer to view actionscript for Frames.

What I Need Help With:
I think the code will be modified is somewhere in the actual main scene. I read several tutorials, but none of them tell me how to look at the code in a scene or in a symbol.

Any suggestions on how I can view the code for a scene or a symbol would be greatly appreciated.

TIA

MsPepperMintUSA

Window>Development Panels>Actions or F9 to open the actions panel.

In the timeline anything that has a (a) above it has actionscript on it. If there is a button on the stage it will not show up with an (a) but to see the actionscript simply single click on the button and view the "action" panel.

Hope it helps.

Wow JT that almost looked like you knew what you were doing!

Thanks!!!

Just tried your suggestion, some of the keyframes with the "a" display just one line of code: stop();

There is one scene. The timeline has 6 layers and a multitude of symbols and buttons (when I select the "Edit Symbol" option I see a list of items). I do not see any buttons on any of the 6 layers.