Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Find Record Combobox - Strange Behavior 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

xweyer

MIS
Sep 7, 2000
US
I have a tabbed form "Master_Customer". There is form to add customers on one tab and a form to add customer's accounts on another tab. After adding a customer on the first form I want to able to add their accounts on the other tab/form.

The problem I am having is this. After a new customer is added I requery the "Accounts" form. There is a combobox on the "Accounts" form provided to select any given customer. The combobox was created using the Access combobox wizard (and so draws its data from a cloned version of the Accounts form's recordset). The combobox is displaying the newly created Customer(s) properly but does not locate the new customer's record when their name is selected from the dropdown (the record displayed on the form does not change). The combobox works normally for all other (non-new) customers but won't locate any new customers until the form has been opened and closed.

To add to the mystery when I view the form's record source
(while still in form view) the entries for the new customers are there but are not retrievable (until the form has been closed and reopened).

Does anyone have any ideas as to what might be going on here and/or how to correct it?

Here's the story. If you want this to work you should have the requery performed in the On Change event of the Master_Customer form's Tab Control. e.g.

If Me!TabCtl0 = [The number of the tab index of the tab containing the Accounts form] Then Me.Accounts.Requery