Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Find out my 'teammate' is taking off for 10 days 5 hours before he leaves. 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jacque

Technical User
Nov 9, 2001
US
I'm fairly new to the organization and was teamed up with a guy who is not strong on communication normally but who has really pushed that to the limit as of late. It's a team of two. I'm sitting in our weekly team meeting only to find out that my teammate is taking 10 days off and I have 5 hours to learn how to re-run failed ETL jobs and other miscellaneous datawarehouse issues. Those are not what I was hired for and have very little experience in those areas. If I hadn't pushed him those last 5 hours, I don't even think he would have thought to train me on anything. Worse yet, he's just an 'ok' teacher. He promised me, and my boss, that he would babysit the ETL processes remotely so that he could catch errors, spot failures and rerun the jobs so that I wouldn't be overwhelmed. I was pissed at both him and my boss for not communicating this time off and it's not my business as to why he wanted/needed the time off, but some advanced notice of taking the time off would have been helpful. I just need to prepare for it. My boss said, it's not you, it's just his way. Great...that's so helpful...NOT!.

Day 1, [bugeyed] jobs are failing bigtime and I go to find out that I wasn't set up with administrator priviledges on the server so I can't really do anything. So I tell my boss this and ask for admin priviledges but they haven't been granted yet.