Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Filter mapping specifies an unknown filter name CorsFilter

Status
Not open for further replies.

imperialx

IS-IT--Management
Jul 21, 2009
US
Hi,

I'm a newbie in java world and installed Tomcat9 on a windows environment. What I'm trying to accomplish for the past days is to use the built-in Tomcat CorsFilter.

But I just notice the error logs with this message;

Java:
Caused by: java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: Filter mapping specifies an unknown filter name CorsFilter
	at org.apache.catalina.core.StandardContext.validateFilterMap(StandardContext.java:2975)
	at org.apache.catalina.core.StandardContext.addFilterMap(StandardContext.java:2940)
	at org.apache.catalina.startup.ContextConfig.configureContext(ContextConfig.java:1275)
	at org.apache.catalina.startup.ContextConfig.webConfig(ContextConfig.java:1189)
	at org.apache.catalina.startup.ContextConfig.configureStart(ContextConfig.java:779)
	at org.apache.catalina.startup.ContextConfig.lifecycleEvent(ContextConfig.java:306)
	at org.apache.catalina.util.LifecycleSupport.fireLifecycleEvent(LifecycleSupport.java:95)
	at org.apache.catalina.util.LifecycleBase.fireLifecycleEvent(LifecycleBase.java:90)
	at org.apache.catalina.core.StandardContext.startInternal(StandardContext.java:5202)
	at org.apache.catalina.util.LifecycleBase.start(LifecycleBase.java:147)

On my web.xml I set the CorsFilter,

XML:
<filter>
  <filter-name>CorsFilter</filter-name>
  <filter-class>org.apache.catalina.filters.CorsFilter</filter-class>
</filter>
<filter-mapping>
  <filter-name>CorsFilter</filter-name>
  <url-pattern>/*</url-pattern>
</filter-mapping>