Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Filter / Group y when certain condition is met 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

ekibel

Technical User
Dec 16, 2008
CA
GM everyone,

I have a simple case to be solved, and because I am new to BO XI R3, I am struggling.

I have a simple database, where I have:
Customer ID - Dimension
Date - Dimension
Purchase - measurement

Assume I want to provide a date range as input (Sep 01st to Sep 30th 2009), and that I provide a cut off point, let's say 5, which indicates I want to see on my report only customers who shopped at my store 5 times or more at the date range specified.

I have tried creating a separate variable, being it a measurement, that would count for unique Customer IDs, how many times they have shopped in my store. But after that, I am being unable to create a filter to set the cut off point as 5, for example. I have hide section and created a formula but it didn't work.

If any one could shed the steps I need to follow to solve this issue would be great.

Thank you,
Eduardo.

I don't think this is properly done at the report level. This should be done at the query level. You will need a subquery to identify the customers who shopped more than 5 times. Those resulsts should feed the main query which gives the details.

Steve Krandel
Intuit

i agree w/skrandel.

this would be done via the select expert not a formula.

you could create a parameter for # of visits and then when running the report it would ask you to enter the # then use that # in it's query.

ie: create a static parameter of type number called "VisitNumber"