Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Filter from Text Box

Status
Not open for further replies.

dedo8816

Programmer
Oct 25, 2006
GB
Hi folks,

How can I change this code to work with partial search criteria?

This basically looks through the lines in a dataview and goes to the matching line from the search in txtfind.txt.
What I would like to be able to do here is to change the below to work as a filter instead with either a partial search criteria or maybe even use a wildcard in the middle i.e. "ms*1-07" will display the full search "ms27039-1-07"... Im currently at a loss as im still a novice at this...

Dim dt As DataTable = CType(Me.CrossRefDataGridView.DataSource, DataTable)
Dim cm As CurrencyManager = Me.BindingContext(dt)
Dim dr As DataRow
'CrossRefDataGridView.Sort(CrossRefDataGridView.Columns(0), System.ComponentModel.ListSortDirection.Ascending)
If RBCross.Checked Then
If dt.Select("[Cross-Reference No] ='" & (TxtFind.Text) & "'").Length > 0 Then
dr = dt.Select("[Cross-Reference No] ='" & (TxtFind.Text) & "'")(0)
Else
dr = Nothing
End If

Try
dr = dt.Select("[Cross-Reference No] ='" & (TxtFind.Text) & "'")(0)
Catch ex As Exception

End Try
If Not dr Is Nothing Then
For i As Integer = 0 To dt.Rows.Count - 1
If dt.Rows(i) Is dr Then
cm.Position = i
Exit For
End If
Next
Else
MessageBox.Show("row not found")
End If
dt = Nothing
cm = Nothing
dr = Nothing
End If

Thanks for your help

Dedo