Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Fill array by looping data to find last person

Status
Not open for further replies.

03Explorer

Technical User
Sep 13, 2005
US
I have an ADP data dump that shows all associates in a company. With each associate there are two data points I am focusing on, their UniqueID (or AutoID ADP gives) and a ManagerID, which is the UniqueID of the associate that manages the associate in the row.

If I am a high level manager, my UniqueID is in the rows as manager for my direct reports. I want to build a list of all those below me at all levels, including the bottom person.

So if I am the Senior VP of a company, I want to build a list of all those below me... Directors (their direct reports), Managers (their direct reports), supervisors (their direct reports). With no one below the supervisors not having their ID as a manager, so we hit bottom.

Sample data
Code:
UniqueID   LastName     FirstName     ManagerID     Title
========   ========     =========     =========     =====
1          Smith        Frank                       VP_Sales
2          Moore        Bethany       1             Director_Sales
3          Williams     Teddy         1             Director_Marketing
4          Sanderlyn    Gill          2             Manager_Sales
5          Fredrick     Todd          3             Manager_Marketing
6          Bendricks    Tina          3             Manager_TradeShow
7          Potter       April         4             Supervisor
8          Forest       Rose          4             Supervisor
9          Black        Ben           5             Supervisor
10         Twitty       Jenifer       6             Supervisor