Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

FileMaker + VB.NET, GET/POST, XML

Status
Not open for further replies.
Jul 10, 2008
US
Oh man, I really hope someone can help me.

I am an IS intern and I am very new to Visual Basic, very, VERY new. I guess you could say I'm self-teaching myself on the job, but I am taking a class next semester. Anyway, my company uses two FileMaker systems that integrate. When you click "Create ID" in the first app, it takes you to the second app, you fill out all the details there, hit "Assign ID", it saves the record and it then takes you back to the first app (where it populates that field with the ID you just created). So basically, the ID in the first app is like a foreign key, and to see all the details you have to go to the second app.

My company has contracted another company to develop a .NET solution to replace the first app. The only problem is that now, we'll need to integrate the .NET solution with the second app (which is FileMaker). My manager would like to develop a sort of "middle man" web service. When the user clicks the "Create ID" in the .NET app, the data will be sent to the web service as XML, the web service will parse the XML and translate it into FileMaker schema, and then send it on its way to the FileMaker app. The new FileMaker record will then be pre-populated with all the info that was sent from the .NET app. He said HTTP GET and POST will need to be utilized for this to work.

Now like I said, I'm new to all this and trying to learn it. I made a sample GET function just to practice with the concepts:

Code:
<WebMethod()> _
    Public Function GetWebPageHtml() As String
        Dim url As String