Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

File question

Status
Not open for further replies.

mdabney

IS-IT--Management
Jul 1, 2002
US
I am trying to self-teach RPG. I have some C++ experience, but I haven't used it in a while. One of the tutorials I'm using says I need to use "the record name for the file". Is that the same thing as the record format? I seem to be stuck on this one item.

Yes, if you use DSPFD, you want the Record Format of the file. RedMage1967
IBM Certifed - RPG IV Progammer

Thank you. This seems to involve a bit more than C++ and simple CL programs.

It can be. What version OS are you running? RedMage1967

V5R1- I seem to have loaded both RPG IV and RPG-ILE. The documentation I've read seemed to put the ILE version above the 400 version. I also found articles on converting from 400 to ILE. However, the majority of information I found was on RPG 3, but I couldn't find a conversion tool to 4. I am seeking local clasess, but the community college system here doesn't offer RPG. They do offer C, C+, C++, Java, LotusScript, and VB. My goal is to learn enough to turn queries into reports so that our SysAdmin doesn't spend half the day running queries for everyone. Again, thanks for your help. I seem to have another problem, since I did use the correct record format.

You also have the option of coding RPG ILE Free Form "C" Specs. This makes the code look a little bit more like C.