Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Fiber layout

Status
Not open for further replies.

genenj420

IS-IT--Management
Feb 28, 2002
US
Hi all,

I got a question about a Fiber Layout. I'm new to fiber so I want to make sure I got it right.

The building is 4 floors and the server room is on the second. There are 6 drops per floor.

My plan is to have 4 fiber switches with at least 8 ports on each floor. Run a pre terminated fiber cable to each floor. In the server room I beleive i need a fiber module. (does the fiber module have rj 45 ports on it or Do i need another switch. please let me know if I'm forgeting things such as a patch panel for servers.

Thanks
gene

I'm a little unclear what your layout is.

1. Fiber Optic Backbone with copper UTP to the desktop. In this scenario, you would connect your fiber to the switch on each floor (assuming the switch has a fiber port) and then when you get the runs to the server room, you would probably be best putting those runs into a switch with multiple fiber ports, one for each floor. Alternatively you could convert the fiber to UTP, but that seems like a step backwards.

2. Fiber to the desktop. In this case, you would likely run the fiber about the same, however each switch would have enough fiber ports to support all the workstations.

Can you explain a bit more about the layout and why you are using fiber? the distance? the need for speed?

Good Luck
It is only my opinion, based on my experience and education...I am always willing to learn, educate me!
Daron J. Wilson, RCDD
daron.wilson@lhmorris.com

Daron,

Your first responce was correct. And thank you, I just wasn't sure if I was missing something in my plan.