Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Fiber Channel HBA suggestions

Status
Not open for further replies.

thedatadigger

Programmer
Jan 17, 2008
I am looking for a Fiber Channel HBA that is supported in linux kernel 2.6 that is a single channel, interchangeable (copper/optical) card. I have one right now, an Adaptec 9110G but it is not supported in linux at all. I am just looking for suggestions, I am new to the whole HBA thing and I would like to avoid having multiple cards, due to extensibility issues. I have been looking around but any helpful suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

What SAN are you using? Believe it or not, not all Fibre Channel interacts with each other properly. Your SAN provider should have a hardware compatibility list that will help you choose the proper brand.

well, to be honest we are developing a generic utility that should potentially work with an undetermined SAN, or a SAN that is determined based on the card we select, or another possibility is multiple cards (not in the box at the same time) each one for a different SAN. I am also open to the possibility of a dual channel card that is copper on one channel and optical on the other. I did find the HP AD193A but it does not appear to be supported in anything but HP-UX. Sorry if it seems like I am being vague, this is really research for product development and I can't exactly divulge full details of the end result at this time.