Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Fed up with Access97! What are my options????

Status
Not open for further replies.

cavery

Technical User
Oct 29, 2002
US
Hello all,
I'm a frustrated Access application developer and I'm now in the process of upgrading to a new, more powerful system. I currently have about 80,000 records with queries, forms, reports, etc. What are my options for upgrading to a new system, which can hold more volume and be more stable. Such as any mainframe, Oracle/Unix, SQL driven database and last but not least, upgrading to Access 2000 isn't an option for me...

Thanks for your time,
~Clark

~Clark

Hmmm.. First off, I'd say that 80K records is easily within Jet's capabilities - I routinely use db's with 750K to 2M records, and, apart from the somewhat slow delivery (which can be tweaked by throwing hardware), it's as stable as anything else in the Windows world.. :)

What do you mean by "upgrading to a new, more powerful system."

Are you thinking of shoving an AS/400 under your desk?

The big thing about "server" database engines is that they tend to need more administrative detail - you don't say whether this is just "you" you're talking about, or if you are part of a larger enterprise that already has Oracle or SQL Server or something else like that available to you.

I can't in good faith recommend tossing Oracle Desktop on a PC for an 80K record database.

And why can't you upgrade to A2K?

Some additional details will help us/me/them fix you up.

Jim

If at first you don't succeed, skydiving probably isn't for you!
Another free Access forum:
More Access stuff at