Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Extracting Data

Status
Not open for further replies.

dnayana

Programmer
Nov 14, 2002
US
Hi All!

First, thank you in advance to anyone who can provide assistance.

I'm a newbie to XML and this is my first XML project which is a very challenging one.

I've been assigned a task where I need to update data within a 3rd party's XML file (the structure is in XML format but the file extension is pdb -- don't know if this will be an issue) with data from another XML file.

I have created VBA code within MS Access where it exports specific tables to an XML file. It also creates the XSD & XSL files.

I analyzed the 3rd party's XML file. I'm able to locate the elements that contains the data that needs to be updated/replaced with the data within the elements created by the MS Access xsl file.

I'm at a lost of how to write the XML code that will just update/replace the data within the respective elements of the 3rd Party's XML file with the data within the elements of the XML file generated by MS Access.

I'm familiar with VBA and ColdFusion, so if these are much simpler avenues to take to complete this task, please let me know and if possible provide guidance (i.e. links, sample code)

Code:
Application.ExportXML
   ObjectType:=acExportTable, _
   DataSource:="tblTable1", _
   DataTarget:="C:\tblTable1.xml", _
   SchemaTarget:="tblTable1Schema.xsd", _
   PresentationTarget:="tblTable1.xsl"

Application.ExportXML
   ObjectType:=acExportTable, _
   DataSource:="tblTable2", _
   DataTarget:="C:\tblTable2.xml", _
   SchemaTarget:="tblTable2Schema.xsd", _
   PresentationTarget:="tblTable2.xsl"

Code:
<xsl:template match="//dataroot>