Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Extracting Data from a CSV file 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stel

IS-IT--Management
Oct 10, 2000
US
Greetings,

I'm new at PERL but I have scripting experience in a proprietery language (very c+ like but less type strict). I need a quick turn-around for the BOSS and can't take the time to dive deep into PERL the way I'd like to, so I'm turning to everyone for some help. PLEASE.

PERL is up and running on NT just fine. :)

I have a CSV file in rows that has been extracted from the Novell NDS. Below is a sample of that data. I want the results from the "Login Script" portion only if it has a #Capture in the value.

------------------------------------------------------------
"User Name","Object Container Name (DN)","Login Script Contents"

"Davismic","Anywhere.ABCDEF","#CAPTURE L=2 Q=.COL2007Q1.ABCDEF NB NFF"
"Dolced","Anywhere.ABCDEF","#CAPTURE L=2 Q=.COL2007Q1.ABCDEF NB NFF"
"Kaysert","Anywhere.ABCDEF","IF NETWORK_ADDRESS = "D4CFF853" THEN GOTO STOP"
&quot;Kaysert&quot;,&quot;Anywhere.ABCDEF&quot;,&quot;IF P_STATION<=&quot;00000000FFFF&quot; THEN GOTO STOP&quot;
------------------------------------------------------------
I've seen these files sizes to be several MB.

GOAL:
have output that has
&quot;User Name&quot; , &quot;Login Script&quot; if it has a #capture in the value.

My first thoughts were to try to match on the &quot;<line feed>&quot; string. I know that it is an OD OA in hex but can I use that in PERL?

Any direction is greatly. . . no GREATLY appreciated.

Thanks,
Stel [sig][/sig]

Code:
#!perl -w
# open an output file.
open(OPF, &quot;>junk.log&quot;) or die &quot;Failed to open output file, $!\n&quot;;