Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Extra blank lines are being printed on my report.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Blamdude

Technical User
Jan 2, 2008
US
I'm new to Crystal Reports so please be patient with how I explain this.

I'm kinda stuck with using version 6 of Crystal Reports if that makes a difference.

Here is how my details section is laid out.

@partdesc @partqty @partsale @partextended @labordesc @laborextended

All these are lined up horizontally in the .rpt.

Now when I run the report what happens is that @partdesc, @labordesc and @laborextended all start on the same row but @partqty, @partsale and @partextended all get put on a line below @partdesc. This results in a blank spot directly underneath @partdesc wasting space and basically making the report look ugly. I can't seem to figure out why this is happening.

If I just have @partdesc in the details section byitself with nothing else or with just @laborextended there is no blank line below each repetition of @partdesc.

Can anyone shed some light?

Thank you much folks.

dave

If you go to Section Expert > Details > check Suppress Blank Section does that fix your problem?

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
"Now I can look at you in peace; I don't eat you any more." Franz Kafka, while admiring fish in an aquarium

Nope, doesn't make a difference.

Thanks though.

If you go into design view, do you see more than one detail section, e.g., detail_a and detail_b? If so, move all fields into detail_a and delete the detail_b section.