Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Export to Excel Report Problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

Garridon

Programmer
Mar 2, 2000
US
I have two reports which are used for exporting to Microsoft Excel. All the fields export properly except one. It's a memo field, and it cuts it off at exactly 126 characters. Anything that runs under 126 characters is fine; anything over doesn't carry over.

I tried changing it to a text field, importing the data into a new field, and even importing the database into a new database. It still does the same thing in all the reports.

Any idea what's going on?

Thanks!

Linda Adams
Garridon@aol.com
I'm a professional writer, published internationally.

this is a crude fix but...
Try splitting the long field up into 2 or more that are less than 125 characters.

this is how: create 2 functions in the modules TAB

Public Function LeftSide(MyLongString)
LeftSide = Left(MyLongString, 125)
End Function

Public Function RightSide(MyLongString)
RightSide = Mid(MyLongString, 126, Len(MyLongString) - 125)
End Function

then put two text boxes on your report one looks at the Left the other looks at the right
Longfield = the field on your report that has more than 126 characters

in the text boxes "control source"
=LeftSide([Longfield])

=RightSide([Longfield])

DougP, MCP
dposton@universal1.com

Ask me how Bar-codes can help you be more productive.

Well, this "gets" up to the 250 characters, but memo fields could be considerably longer than this.