Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Experience Please... 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

BigCatMCS

Programmer
Apr 29, 2004
US

I'm currently studying VB .net (self-study), but have no real world experience. I am a supervisor in a totally unrelated field. How do I land a job in VB development????

The best two ways open to you are to gain some real world experience by doing a project for your current organization or by volunteering your services to some charity or church organization.

Questions about posting. See faq183-874
Click here to learn Ways to help with Tsunami Relief

I did try that route...but charities around here aren't looking for VB developers. Any other Ideas?

You're a supervisor, right? Aren't there improvements that your department could use?

If you don't have an in house development group perhaps talk with IT management to see if they'll give you the okay to write a small application to be used by your department and go from there...

I might go ahead and try that. There are some improvements that we need, I think the only problem at this point is persuading my boss that we need vb .net. This department is tight w/ money (as with all departments and money), but if I can argue a good case, I might be able to get it.

VB.NET is fairly inexpensive. You may just want to purchase it yourself if you can not get the funding needed from management.

Swi

RoI (Return on Investment), is the key to argueing anything successfully in a technology field. If you can convince them that after putting up an initial cost, they'll see a return, either financially or higher/more effecient production, you've won a major battle in moving forward with the project.