Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Execute a command line exe file and get result 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

djburnheim

Technical User
Jan 22, 2003
AU
I'm fairly new to VB and don't know if this can be done. We have a command line exe file that generates passwords for us and I'm trying to write a VB app so that we can run it without starting a DOS session. I've created the forms in VB with a text box where the user would put in values that need to be passed to the DOS command which then generates a result that I want to be displayed in the form.

-VB form with txtUserEntry field.
-Click command button which calls an exe file that can only run in DOS.
Syntax needs to be c:\>exefile txtUserEntry
-Result is displayed in VB form

Hope it makes sense and I realise that it would probably be quite easy for an experience VB person to write a password generator but I certainly couldn't at this stage and this generator has already been used to generate a couple of hundred passwords. (passwords are not random...eg if txtUserEntry was the same everytime the result would be the same)

Thanks
Dave

Hmm... You could try something like:

Code:
dim strTemp as String
dim intFile as integer
strTemp = "passgen.exe " + chr(34) + " > c:\pw.txt"
call shell(strtemp,0)
intFile = FreeFile()
Open "c:\pw.txt" For Input as #intFile
Line Input #intFile,strTemp
close #intFile
Kill "c:\pw.txt"

Rem StrTemp now holds value

This approach might work, but it's a bit cheap and cheerful...

mmilan

Slight amendment.

dim strTemp as String
dim intFile as integer
strTemp = "passgen.exe > c:\pw.txt"
call shell(strtemp,0)
intFile = FreeFile()
Open "c:\pw.txt" For Input as #intFile