Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Exchange and BackupExec

Status
Not open for further replies.

dfortin

MIS
Apr 15, 2005
US
Hello,

I'm very new to BackupExec and the software is more or less intuitive, but be that as it may I'm having issues with it.

Here is my situation:

I set up a testbed domain, installed a domain controller, installed a 2003 exchange server, and installed a BackupExec Server. The backup exec server (version 10d) backs up to disk which is simply a NAS device.

My first question is, what do I back up on the Exchange server? I know I need System State, Information Store, public folder store, and the exchange mailboxes, but what else? Do I need the log files? Do I need to backup the entire contents of the c drive?

I performed 1 full backup of my test exchange server which contained all the system mailboxes, and one other mailbox that I had created and did some things in, ie created calendar entries, contacts, emails ect. I was able to restore single messages contacts and calendar information, that was no problem. I ran into trouble when I reformatted the exchange server and tried to restore from backup.

Nothing worked at all. The BackupExec administrators manual was of little help. I followed their instructions to a T, and it failed horribly.

So I guess my main question are:
1. Exactly what do I need to backup.
2. How do I perform a successful restore from scratch?

Any and all information would be greatly appreciated!

You need the Exchange agent for BackupExec. If you're backing up the Information Store, you don't need to backup the mailboxes.

Backup everything else, including the logs.

Pat Richard, MCSE MCSA:Messaging CNA