Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Excel INDEX MATCH MATCH on column title containing month and year? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

knifey

Technical User
Nov 14, 2006
GB
Hi,
I have a master worksheet matrix consisting of lookup values in column H and months in the format 'Apr-13', 'May-13', etc. in cells AF1:BE1
What I need to do is pull the 'actuals' sales figures in to the master worksheet. The actuals worksheet is in exactly the same format as the master sheet.

I know how to use INDEX MATCH MATCH, but I've never tried it with dates. The following formula is working for the INDEX and row MATCH parts. But I can't get it to return anything but a #N/A error for the column MATCH part.
I need the column MATCH to work with 2 criteria (month and year). Can anyone point out where I'm going wrong?

=INDEX(Actuals!A1:BR2617,MATCH(Master!H2,Actuals!H:H,0),MATCH(MONTH(Master!AF1)&YEAR(Master!AF1),MONTH(Actuals!U1:BR1)&YEAR(Actuals!U1:BR1)),0)

Thanks,
K

hi,

but I've never tried it with dates...

Well is 'Apr-13' actually 1) a DATE (ie a NUMBER) or 2) TEXT?

The way that you determine the truth, is to change the number format for the cell containing 'Apr-13' to GENERAL.

Skip,
[sub]
[glasses]Just traded in my OLD subtlety...
for a NUance![tongue][/sub]

Well from reading your post more carefully, it seems that your 'Apr 13' dates are ACTUAL DATES, formatted to display mmm yy.

So, just use the DATES, but use the [highlight #FCE94F]LESS THAN or EQUAL TO[/highlight] Match Type
[tt]
=INDEX(Actuals!A1:BR2617,MATCH( Master!H2,Actuals!H:H,0),MATCH([highlight #FCE94F]Master!AF1,Actuals!U1:BR1,1[/highlight]))
[/tt]

Skip,
[sub]

Hi Skip,