Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Excel 2010 -- adding date parameters to the SLQ query via the Connections properties

Status
Not open for further replies.

olrac

MIS
Nov 23, 2010
CA
Hi,

I'm very new to VBA for EXCEL 2010.

I wrote a query with a where clause :

WHERE

TC.TimeCardDateTime = '2015-07-08'
and then a VBA piece:

Private Sub RefreshQuery()

With ActiveWorkbook.Connections("MSP_RECON").OLEDBConnection
.CommandText = "EXECUTE TC.TimeCardDateTime '" & Range("D2").Value & "'"
End With
ActiveWorkbook.Connections("MSP_RECON").Refresh

End Sub

Question 1 : The VBA codes gives error Subscript out or Range
Question 2 : How to I modify the VBA go look at a range of rates ( Where TC.TimeCardDateTime between '2015-01-01' and '2015-10-12'

Thank you very much!

Hi,

I have never used OLEDB. For the past 20 or so years, I have used ODBC regularly, since I have the entire SQL string to manipulate.

What kind of database are your querying via OLEDB?

Skip,
[sub]
[glasses]Just traded in my OLD subtlety...
for a NUance![tongue][/sub]

Hi,

Thanks for the quick response. I added a file to my original post (and again in this one). I database is a SQL database (on a MS 2013 server). In EXCEL I just choose Command Type as SQL and add my query.

From what I understand of the VBA..

StartDate = Sheets("Sheet1").Range("D2").Value 'Pass value from cell D2 to StartDate variable
EndDate = Sheets("Sheet1").Range("D3").Value 'Pass value from cell D3 to EndDate variable

'Pass the Parameters values to the Query used in the Data Connection
With ActiveWorkbook.Connections("MSP_RECON").OLEDBConnection
.CommandText = "EXEC TC.TimeCardDateTime between '" & StartDate & "' AND '" & EndDate & "'"