Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Exam 70-270 needed for MCDBA

Status
Not open for further replies.

Carlos82

Technical User
May 7, 2007
US
I am currently a student going for a Associate in Science degree in database administration. Im the director of information technology's assistant. Which means I do everything from xp support, to networking and SQL server admin too. Do I need to take exam 70-270 to be a MCDBA. If not should I take it since I also do xp support at work?

To be completely honest, I learned a decent amount of stuff that I would have never learned in my support environment, which I found interesting. It was nice to get a decent handle on EFS, and a grasp of the different unattended installs of Windows (no matter how really irrelevant it was to me).. There were a bunch of command line things that you get to run over if using the MSPress book, but you dont really get tested on it to much.

I would say, if you are looking for gaining a more in depth knowledge of WinXP this test is a good path for it. It is however NOT required for the MCDBA... Although with the core exams you can get your mcsa quite easily after getting your MCDBA