Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Evaluating Trend Micro

Status
Not open for further replies.

rshendrix

MIS
Mar 5, 2002
I'm currently evaluating Trend Micro OfficeScan. I need anti-virus software for an additional 100 users.

Can anyone share any pro/cons for this product?

I'm currently using McAfee Total Virus Defense, but looking for something a little cheaper.

I used Trend at two other places I used to work, but I've been using McAfee for over 3 years where I am now.

McAfee stinks.

Trend is more stable, Trend puts updates out MUCH more frequently, simpler to to configure, and overall more reliable.

McAfee's EPO seems to be an afterthought to me.

If you have computers at multiple sites, go with the Trend Enterpriose solution. I believe it will allow you to stage distribution files across a WAN pipe once and then have all users update without crushing your WAN pipes.

If you only have one LAN, the "regular" Trend Micro suite is the way to go.

My job would be so much easier if we had Trend rather than McAfee here.

I have to disagree with guod. I will admit that the older versions of McAfee VScan and ePO were harder to maintain, but Version 7.0 Enterprise and later, combined with ePO 3.0 and later are much more stable, allow you to adjust the percentage of processor usage, maintain large numbers of systems across a LAN, and are very helpful in diagnosing problem areas of your network. We had Trend at one of our branch locations and it was my experience that the McAfee updates were usually automatically loaded on our network workstations without any hands on intervention before the Trend users were updated.