Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Evaluating the software

Status
Not open for further replies.

MarianoMartinez

Programmer
Feb 11, 2002
US
I am researching a WEB report solution for my company. I would like to know your experiences, good or bad. I have to make the purchase decision within the next couple of weeks.

I have been consulting on Actuate for over 4 years. Actuate is extremely flexible and scalable. It is a very flexible Reporting tool. The only problem with it is that it has a rather steep learning curve. If your company selects it as it's reporting tool, plan on bringing in a consultant and/or Trainer to Train your staff.

They're a starting point. I usually subclass the Actuate Classes into my own libraries a base Library for Company Defaults. Then into more specific libraries. I generally use 3 Base Libaries: a Data Library to hold the default Connections Classes; a Control Libary to hold the base Controls such as Text, Labels ....; And a Layout Library to hold base Group Sections; Report Sections that kind of stuff. I rarely if ever use the Actuate Base Classes Directly.

I also suggest Crystal... it's very powerful and easy to follow.

I've been using cr8.0 for the last 4 months. It is easy to use but lack good documentation on web reporting.
Overall it is easy to use once you learn it. I've learn it on my own, got a book and start poking with it.
I am getting some problem on web reporting but I know I will resolve them. It is a mater of time. CR are coming up with version 9 by the end of the summer.
Give it a try : )

Mariano, in the end what have chosen (or leaning towards)?

we just updated crystal report to 8.5 and crystal enterprise standard.