Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Errorr connecting to oracle 10g database.

Status
Not open for further replies.

dabiri

Technical User
Dec 8, 2014
US
Hi,
I have a simple vbscript that I had used to connect to an Oracle 10g database and execute simple queries. the database is on a server the vbscript was on my windows-XP machine.
Now the script has been moved to a windows 7-64 bit machine and I'm getting an error when I execute the script. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Here's the script:

Code:
strCon = "Driver={Microsoft ODBC for Oracle}; " & _
        "CONNECTSTRING=(DESCRIPTION=" & _
        "(ADDRESS=(PROTOCOL=TCP)" & _
        "(HOST=xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx.)(PORT=1521))" & _
        "(CONNECT_DATA=(SERVICE_NAME=sid1))); uid=xxxxxx;pwd=xxxxxx;" 
     Set objConn = WScript.CreateObject("ADODB.Connection")    
     Set objRs = WScript.CreateObject("ADODB.Recordset")
     objConn.Open strCon
I'm getting the following error:
[highlight #CC0000]Error: [Microsoft][ODBC Driver Manager] Data source name not
found and no default driver specified.[/highlight]

How are you executing your script? You may need to use the 32-bit version of cscript.exe / wscript.exe, which are found in the %systemdrive%\Windows\SysWoW64 folder

I see you also posted here: thread1177-1741714. Don't cross-post please.

thanks for reply.
there's a script.exe in c:\windows\syswow64 folder - size 124kb
and also there's a script.exe in c:\windows\system32 folder - size 154kb
how would I tell windows which one to use?
and now, a script with connection to an access database is not working either.
any ideas would be appreciated.

here's the connection that i'm using for connecting to access database:
Code: