Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

== (equal to operator) and object references 4

Status
Not open for further replies.

1DMF

Programmer
Jan 18, 2005
GB
Hi,

I'm a newbie, trying to learn OO via a Java course.

I'm on a section regarding expressions, operators / operands.

It states that if you use the == (equals to) operator with any of the opreands being a reference variable to instances of objects, it will always return false if they both do not contain the reference to the same object instance.

Is this just in java or true of any OO language when using object vars and the == (equals to) operator.

Also I was wondering if it is possible to create a primitave variable type which is equal to the value of the reference of the object instance (it's memory address).

Not sure I've explained that well, but it's like in perl, you can make a standard string scalar variable my $myvar = the memory reference of say a hash or array.

So it is a scalar variable not an object reference type variable.

Is this logic going to cause me problems and should I forget anything I know of other languages?

It's just it seems odd you need to create a variable of a class type if all it is going to do is hold a memory reference, not the actual object, which is all an object referecne is.

how big is an object reference variable if it isn't actually holding the object and its state attributes?

It just seems a bit alien to me to create two vars which are seamingly different (one being an object reference) and the other being a refrence to the object variable which is referencing the object instance...

my example..

Code:
Book myBook = new Book();
Book myBook2 = myBook;