Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations SkipVought on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Entry Level Java

Status
Not open for further replies.

IronRocket

Technical User
Dec 28, 2005
US
I am currently a supervisor in a data center and am wondering how I can make the jump from supervisor to an entry-level java developer. I don't have any experience but I studied it on my own and feel like I can make a career change. But how???

Check with your development group and see if they have an intership available. Maybe you can work for them for free for a month or two after hours then move into a junior role if they like you.

Denny
MCSA (2003) / MCDBA (SQL 2000)
MCTS (SQL 2005 / Microsoft Windows SharePoint Services 3.0: Configuration / Microsoft Office SharePoint Server 2007: Configuration)
MCITP Database Administrator (SQL 2005) / Database Developer (SQL 2005)

--Anything is possible. All it takes is a little research. (Me)
[noevil]

Another way is to see if there is a need for an application within your company. If you can then design, develop and test it and get it used by the appropriate staff, this will raise your profile and maybe more things will come as a result of this. This will help raise your profile if it comes to making a full time switch.

John

Use some brainstorming and come up with an application in Java that solves a business problem in your workplace or provides some information or service they aren't getting now.

It could be something simple as a specialized contact list or something that automates tasks that network admins or help desk support perform.

More than likely there are all kinds of applications right under your nose that are crying out to be created.