Tek-Tips is the largest IT community on the Internet today!

Members share and learn making Tek-Tips Forums the best source of peer-reviewed technical information on the Internet!

• Congratulations Mike Lewis on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Enterprise Printer Management 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

nachofunk

Programmer
Mar 10, 2008
US
I am a deskside technician at a company that has around 800 printers setup with IP printing. We are running a Server 2003 environment, but currently these printers are not managed by a print server. When a printer is changed we have to manually change the drivers on each PC, and hope that we actually got all the PC's that print to it. Also if a printer goes down, there is not an easy way to redirect all the print jobs to a backup printer.

We have asked for a print server, but the response we have received is that with this many printers a print server is not a good idea. That it would be too much work for some one to update the server when printers are changed or added. Also they advised that if the server were to crash we would lose all the printers versus just one.

I can understand these concerns, but it doesn't seem like this is a good way to manage this volume of printers. I was hoping to get some input on what other companies use to manage their printers.

We use DNS to connect to the printers and can redirect to any like printer by changing the DNS name associated to the defunct printer to a working printer.

The answer is "42"